A New Life in the Sun

freddie (1)My name is Freddie and I am a proud 2013 graduate from United Way of Long Island’s YouthBuild program.  I was born and raised in Washington Heights, my parents are from the Dominican Republic and my home life was always chaotic – especially with three older siblings.

I had the privilege of attending Brandeis High School on the Upper West Side but did not recognize the advantage this would have given me in life. After only five months, I was kicked out and told that someone who wanted the opportunity to learn would better fill my spot.  At the time I did not mind. I was lazy, never wanted to go to school and only cared to be around people who were like me.

Since I wasn’t in school anymore, I resorted to making money on the streets and was arrested. I served a year and a half in prison. I was miserable. The sun rarely came out. The days were dark, the lights were dim and the jail was cold.

I spent each day there knowing that I had to do better than this life. I hurt so many people coming to prison, including my girlfriend Erica. After my release, I was paroled to my father’s house in Wyandanch. My parole officer told me about YouthBuild, and Erica encouraged me to join. She had aspirations to make something of herself and I knew if I wanted to be with her I had to stay away from the streets and start doing something with my life.

After visiting YouthBuild I was excited to hear about how I could earn my TASC diploma, but unfortunately the rigor of the program proved to be too much for me to handle. I quit.

Again, I was presented with an opportunity and let it slip away.  I came to my senses and enrolled in the summer TASC program. I came to class every day, and was able to see all the great things that United Way and YouthBuild were involved in. After the summer, I took the TASC test and passed. This was only the first step – I wanted a long-term career not a short-term fix so I enrolled in the full ten-month program.

During this time, I learned and did more than I ever thought I could. I volunteered with several agencies, learned leadership skills, attended events, received hands-on training while building a house, and received my OSHA 10 certification and the National Home Builders Institute Pre-Apprenticeship Certification.

I was determined to make the most of this opportunity, so after I graduated I asked to learn more about the Electrical Training Center who I saw working at the E3 Training Center. I went on a tour of the facility, and knew that I wanted to be an electrician. All I had to do was attend and pass the class. The price for this class was out of the range of possibility for me, until I received a scholarship from United Way.

I was so grateful and promised to make United Way proud of me. I passed the course and immediately started my career at Statewide Electric and Communications. I later left to work with Premier Solar Solutions and I am now happily employed by SunPower by Empower Solar, where I have worked as a solar installer for over two years.

At 27 years old I am finally truly happy. Erica and I are now married; we live in Great Neck and are expecting our first son. Now, the sun is always shining and I will forever be grateful to United Way and YouthBuild for supporting and guiding me over the past four years. The amount of support I have received is priceless and I will forever be appreciative.

Leave a Reply

